Photovoltaics

Solar energy can be used in photovoltaic shape to produce electricity. In 1998, the photovoltaic industry has provided 0.04% (1.2 TWh) of global electricity production.

Historically developed in North America (0.9 TWh in 1998), it is experiencing significant growth in the developing world where it seems like the best solution from a technical point of view (simplicity of implementation, autonomy, maintenance reduced) and cost to meet the basic electricity needs of rural populations.

It also increased in industrial countries, mainly for food sites too isolated to be connected to the network but also, as in Japan and Germany, as part of the major programs of grid-connected photovoltaic roofs.

In France, as in developing countries, the EDF Group is involved in the development of this mode of production.

A development factor

More than 2 billion people worldwide lack access to electricity, especially in rural areas. In these areas, solar energy is a factor of development that meets the basic needs of families and health care facilities and to ensure the supply of drinking water or irrigation (solar pumps).

As part of its agreements with ADEME, EDF Group participated in a group of industrialists in a pilot scheme for the electrification of three villages in Burkina Faso. The electricity produced is used to pump water, light a communal space and power a rural telephone, a TV and a refrigerator for medicines and vaccines.

This group has been active in Benin and Chad as well as Mali where two projects are underway: one to equip four villages (which will replace kerosene lamps and save 600 tonnes of CO2 per year) the other for twenty villages, approximately 80,000 (8,000 tonnes of CO2 saved per year) residents.

In 2000, EDF signed a memorandum with the government of the state of Bahia in Brazil to power 15,000 homes with photovoltaic systems. Purpose: 50 000 people to plug in lamps, small appliances as well as a radio or a television. This program, one of the largest to be conducted in the world, to save $ 16,000 tons of CO2 per year. It is led by a French consortium of EDF, and TotalEnergie TotalFinaElf, the world's photovoltaic assembler that combines since 1997 EDF and Total in many achievements in Indonesia, Vietnam.

The three partners also have a project for 20,000 households in Morocco in rural areas to sparsely populated.

An effective solution for remote sites

In France, photovoltaics can power sites too isolated to be connected to the grid under satisfactory economic conditions. 3000 homes are affected in France and more than 7,000 in the DOM.

EDF and ADEME provide financial and technical support for equipment of approximately 1,000 sites per year, mainly in the DOM for a 1 MW peak (the peak watt is the maximum power of the PV modules). In late 2000, nearly 4,000 homes, shelters and sheep-grid had been electrified.

As part of the agreement signed in 1999 with the French Alpine Club for three years, EDF provides technical and financial support to install, extend or improve the photovoltaic equipment over a hundred shelters CAF and to maintain . In 2000, the refuge Platé was equipped with a device (28 photovoltaic modules, a battery bank and an electronic controller operation) providing winter and summer, energy independence (lighting, cooling, water pumping small appliances). Other embodiments of the year: the shelters Cover, Shark and Albert 1er.

The energy of the light

Sunlight arrives in the form of particles, photons, on panels made of "modules", small square of semiconductor material, usually silicon. These photons dislodge electrons in the material thereby producing an electrical current. Without light so it can be no current. We must therefore store electricity generated during the day in batteries. Finally, if a bulb is working directly with the direct current produced by the sun, this is not the case for many appliances (washing machines, hair dryer ...) that require AC power. Thus branch to the output panel or battery, an inverter that handles the conversion.

Energy on any surface?

Generated by photovoltaic cells electric current is proportional to the illuminated surface and the light intensity received and watt-peak (Wp) is the unit characterizing the photovoltaic power. In order of magnitude, a panel of 0.5 m² with a capacity of 50 Wh 50Wc happen if it receives full sunlight midday sun for an hour.

Larger and more sophisticated applications

Mostly used for rural electrification and pumping drinking water (50%), photovoltaics has seen its scope of application to extend the pace of technological progress: flashing lights indicating the work on highways, terminals relief emergency telecommunications systems, maritime signals (like 90 buoys in the Gironde estuary) and even power plants chlorinating water towers (eg six Corsican towns).

In Japan and Germany, they have undertaken major programs to install photovoltaic panels on the roofs of existing buildings or integrated facades in new buildings. These systems are connected to the electricity grid, the corresponding spaces are powered by it when their needs exceed the production supplied by photovoltaic panels: the days of limited sunlight, at night of course, winter ...

Photovoltaïque

L’énergie solaire peut être utilisée sous forme photovoltaïque pour produire de l’électricité. En 1998, la filière photovoltaïque a fourni 0,04% (1,2 TWh) de la production électrique mondiale.

Historiquement développée en Amérique du Nord (0,9 TWh en 1998), elle connaît une croissance importante dans les pays en développement où elle apparaît comme la solution la mieux adaptée, du point de vue technique (simplicité de mise en oeuvre, autonomie, entretien réduit) et économique, pour répondre aux besoins électriques élémentaires des populations rurales.

Elle progresse également dans les pays industriels, essentiellement pour l’alimentation des sites trop isolés pour être raccordés au réseau mais aussi, comme au Japon et en Allemagne, dans le cadre des grands programmes de toits photovoltaïques reliés au réseau.

En France, comme dans les pays en développement, le groupe EDF participe à l’essor de ce mode de production.

Un facteur de développement

Plus de 2 milliards de personnes dans le monde n’ont pas accès à l’électricité, notamment dans les régions rurales. Dans ces zones, l’énergie solaire est un facteur de développement qui permet de répondre aux besoins élémentaires des familles et des centres de soin et d’assurer la fourniture d’eau potable ou d’irrigation (pompes solaires).

Dans le cadre de ses accords avec l’ADEME, le groupe EDF a participé, au sein d’un groupement d’industriels, à une opération pilote pour l’électrification de trois villages au Burkina Faso. L’électricité ainsi produite sert à pomper l’eau, éclairer un local communal et alimenter un téléphone rural, une télévision ainsi qu’un réfrigérateur pour les médicaments et les vaccins.

Ce groupement étend ses actions au Bénin et au Tchad ainsi qu’au Mali où deux projets sont en cours : l’un pour équiper 4 villages (ce qui permettra de remplacer les lampes à pétrole et d’économiser 600 tonnes de CO2 par an), l’autre pour vingt villages, soit environ 80 000 habitants (8 000 tonnes de CO2 économisées par an).

En 2000, EDF a signé un protocole avec le gouvernement de l’Etat de Bahia au Brésil pour équiper 15 000 foyers en systèmes photovoltaïques. Objectif : permettre à 50 000 personnes environ de brancher des lampes, des petits appareils électroménagers ainsi qu’une radio ou une télévision. Ce programme, l’un des plus importants qui sera réalisé au monde, permettra une économie de 16 000 tonnes de CO2 par an. Il est conduit par un consortium français réunissant EDF, TotalFinaElf et TotalEnergie, premier ensemblier photovoltaïque mondial, qui associe depuis 1997 EDF et Total dans de nombreuses réalisations en Indonésie, au Vietnam.

Ces trois partenaires ont également un projet pour 20 000 foyers au Maroc dans des régions rurales à l’habitat dispersé.

Une solution pertinente pour les sites isolés

En France, le photovoltaïque permet d’alimenter les sites trop isolés pour être raccordés au réseau dans des conditions économiques satisfaisantes. 3 000 habitations sont concernées en métropole et plus de 7 000 dans les DOM.

EDF et l’ADEME apportent leur soutien financier et technique à l’équipement d’environ 1 000 sites par an, principalement dans les DOM, pour une puissance de 1 MW crête (le Watt crête correspond à la puissance maximale des modules photovoltaïque). Fin 2000, près de 4 000 habitations, bergeries et refuges non raccordés au réseau avaient ainsi été électrifiés.

Dans le cadre de la convention signée en 1999 avec le Club Alpin Français pour trois ans, EDF apporte son soutien technique et financier pour installer, étendre ou améliorer les équipements photovoltaïques de plus d’une centaine de refuges du CAF et à en assurer la maintenance. En 2000, le refuge de Platé a été équipé d’une installation (28 modules photovoltaïques, un parc de batteries et un régulateur électronique de fonctionnement) assurant, hiver comme été, l’autonomie énergétique (éclairage, froid, pompage d’eau, petit électroménager). Autres réalisations de l’année : les refuges du Couvercle, du Requin et Albert 1er.

L’énergie de la lumière

La lumière du soleil arrive sous forme de particules, les photons, sur des panneaux constitués de "modules", petits carrés de matériaux semi-conducteurs, généralement du silicium. Ces photons délogent des électrons dans ce matériau produisant ainsi un courant électrique. Sans lumière il ne peut donc y avoir de courant. Il faut donc stocker l’électricité produite pendant la journée dans des batteries. Enfin si une ampoule fonctionne directement avec le courant continu produit par le soleil, ce n’est pas le cas de nombreux appareils (machines à laver, sèche-cheveux…) qui nécessitent du courant alternatif. On branche donc à la sortie du panneau ou de la batterie, un onduleur qui se charge de la conversion.

Quelle énergie pour quelle surface ?

Le courant électrique généré par des cellules photovoltaïques est proportionnel à la surface éclairée et à l’intensité lumineuse reçue et le watt-crête (Wc) est l’unité caractérisant la puissance photovoltaïque. En ordre de grandeur, un panneau de 0,5 m² d’une puissance de 50Wc produira 50 Wh s’il reçoit un éclairement plein soleil de midi pendant une heure.

Des applications plus larges et plus pointues

Surtout utilisé pour l’électrification rurale et le pompage de l’eau potable (à 50%), le photovoltaïque voit son champ d’applications s’étendre au rythme des progrès technologiques : feux clignotants signalant les travaux sur les autoroutes, bornes de secours d’urgence, systèmes de télécommunications, signalisation maritime (comme pour 90 bouées dans l’estuaire de la Gironde) et même alimentation des installations de chloration dans les châteaux d’eau (par exemple dans six communes corses).

Quant au Japon et à l’Allemagne, ils ont engagé de grands programmes pour installer des panneaux photovoltaïques sur les toits des bâtiments existants ou les intégrer en façades dans les constructions neuves. Ces systèmes étant raccordés au réseau électrique, les locaux correspondants sont alimentés par celui-ci dès que leurs besoins dépassent la production fournie par les panneaux photovoltaïques : les jours de faible ensoleillement, la nuit évidemment, l’hiver…